Magic Days of Diwali

According to many legends, the Diwali festival is associated with the victory of Rama over Ravana. 

In Diwali, it is customary to make offerings to the gods. The queen of the festivities is Lakshmí, wife of the god Vishnu, a goddess who symbolizes good luck and beauty and who grants prosperity and wealth. Also, the popular god Ganesha is especially worshiped on these special days.

1. DhanTeras- Dhanteras is considered the God of Ayurveda who imparted the wisdom of Ayurveda for the betterment of mankind and to help rid it of the suffering of disease.

What we can do and buy on Dhanteras: 

Dhanteras is good for starting any things that must grow progressively.

You can start a new business or launch new projects and is good to start the

construction or renovations of homes and offices.

Buy silver or brass utensils and keep them in the 

the eastern direction of your home and buying a broomstick

on this day is said to ward off poverty from home.

2. Kali Chaudas or Naraka Chaturdashi- Also known as Kali Chaudas, Roop Chaudas, Choti Diwali. The day when the light overcame the darkness. It is the day Lord Krishna killed the demon Narakasura.

People wake up early in the morning (before sunrise) and apply ubtan (Made up of sesame oil, rose water, Ganga and some crucial elements) on their body and take a holy bath or Abhyanga Snan. Thus the day is also referred as Roop Chaudas or Roop Chaturdashi.
In the evening, along with the Yam Deep was lit up on the day of  Naraka Chaturdashi along with eleven or twenty-one new diyas. Before lighting up the diyas in the evening, the puja of the diyas is being done with kumkum, chawal (rice) &  gud (Jaggery). After the Puja, diyas are lit up and placed at every corner of the house.

3. Diwali/ Deepawali or Lakshmi Puja- It is the most important day of the Diwali festival in North India. In every home, we pray to Lakshmi (Queen of the Festival, wife of the god Vishnú, whose image represents beauty and brings good luck, prosperity, and wealth) and Ganesh. Friends and family gather to exchange gifts.

4. Govardhan Puja- Govardhan Puja is also referred to as the Annakut Puja. It is said that since Lord Krishna did not move for seven days, he did not had a single morsel of food in all those days. So since this incident the devotees decided to make up for it with a lavish chappan bhog (a meal consisting 56 items like halwa, makhan mishri, jalebi, ladoos, pakoda, khichdi and peda). And that is how even today many pilgrims visit the Govardhan Parvat and offer food to Lord Krishna on the day of Govardhan Puja or offer 56 food items to him in their homes. People also literally make a mountain of food to offer Lord Krishna, called Annakoot.

5. Bhai Dooj- On this day, sisters give gifts to their brothers and younger sisters also give gifts to their elder brothers. Brothers also give gifts to their sisters. The sister whose brother lives far away from her and can not go to her house sends her sincerest prayers for the long and happy life of her brother through the moon god. She performs aarti for the moon. 

However, Diwali is not just about burning candles, fireworks, and gambling but also about rediscovering your inner peace.

Make this holiday truly momentous and savor the differing tastes and cultures of India. May this festival of lights bring you peace, prosperity, success, health, and great happiness! Happy Diwali!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s